Surround Cassandra Wilson - Traveling Miles (2004) DVD-Audio multichannel music

Categories: Jazz Surround Music
Cassandra Wilson - Traveling Miles (2004) DVD-Audio
Artist: Cassandra Wilson | Album: Traveling Miles | Released: 2004 | Quality: DVD-Audio ( 5.1 WavPack 24/96 ) | Genre: Jazz

Throughout the '90s the smoky-voiced contralto Cassandra Wilson has shunned piano accompaniment in favor of close-miked acoustic guitars, evoking a moodily sensual atmosphere in which pop, blues, country and straight jazz vocals all merge together. It helps that Wilson has a distinctly Southern blues cast to her singing, a quality immediately apparent on "Run The Voodoo Down," the funky opener to TRAVELING MILES, her impeccably self-produced homage to Miles Davis.
As is her wont, Wilson has chosen to mix it up on this tribute, setting lyrics to Davis compositions such as "Blue In Green," "Tutu" and "ESP" while reprising two favorite Miles covers, "Someday My Prince Will Come" and Cyndi Lauper's "Time After Time." The singer also contributes some of her own welcome originals such as the poppish "Right Here, Right Now," which itself sounds like a tribute to Joni Mitchell, another mentor-spirit hovering over the proceedings. The set closes with a playful reprise of "Voodoo," featuring a sisterly duet with African singer Angelique Kidjo, who sounds right at home.
01. Run the Voodoo Down
02. Traveling Miles
03. Right Here, Right Now
04. Time After Time
05. When the Sun Goes Down
06. Climb That Road
07. Someday My Prince Will Come
08. Never Broken (ESP)
09. Resurrection Blues (Tutu)
10. Sky and Sea (Blue in Green)
11. Piper
12. Voodoo Reprise
13. Pfrancing

Donation to replenish the collection of the site and its further development
If there are no links - Click here - And write a link to the album. We will reupload file


About multichannel music