Surround The Jeff Beck Group - Jeff Beck Group (2015) SACD-R multichannel music

Categories: Blues / Classic Rock Surround Music
The Jeff Beck Group - Jeff Beck Group (2015) SACD-R
Artist: The Jeff Beck Group | Album: Jeff Beck Group | Released: 2015 | Quality: SACD-R ( DST 4.0, DST 2.0 Bitrate: 1 Bit/2.8MHz ) | Label: Epic Records/Audio Fidelity | Catalog #: AFZ5 219 | Genre: Blues, Classic Rock

Continuing with the same group lineup as on Rough & Ready, Jeff Beck Group was slagged off by critics for Steve Cropper's admittedly lazy production. However, several of the songs hold up masterfully, including the skronky "Ice Cream Cakes," the superlative redo of Don Nix's "Going Down," and the beautifully sad and wistful instrumental, "Definitely Maybe." Beware of early, poor-sounding versions.

Jeff Beck Group Jeff Beck Group on Numbered Limited Edition 4.0 Multichannel Hybrid SACD from Audio Fidelity
Includes Multichannel Mix in SACD Surround Sound & Original 2-Channel Stereo Mixes in SACD Stereo/CD Stereo
Originally released in 1972, Jeff Beck Group was the fourth and final studio album from the legendary collective. The band fully exploits the wildly unique instrumentation of Jeff Beck, a classical/jazz oriented pianist in Max Middleton, the soul/groove of Clive Chaman on bass, Cozy Powell's steady drumming and the expressive vocals of Bob Tench. This innovative music was way ahead of its time and the album features some of the most inspired lead playing of Beck's career.
Beck's guitar arrangements and performances are quite unlike anything from that era, a master pushing the creative envelope. His command of both right and left-hand techniques is truly awesome. The tracks feature multi-layered electric guitars, electric sitars, Beck's wah-wah touch, inspirational slide playing and two-hand tapping all beautifully performed and mixed. The tones he gets out of his guitar are unlike anything he had ever done before.
The mid-tempo guitar driven blues of "Ice Cream Cakes" is the perfect album opener. "Glad All Over" is one of his all time best songs with sharp leads and great piano lines. The funky and jazzy "Sugar Cane" flat-out rocks, and "Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You" is a soulful Bob Dylan cover. Another cover, Don Nix's classic "Going Down" has nice vocals by Tench and Middleton's gospel-tinged intro is absolutely perfect. "Highways" is a slow blues song driven by Beck's amazing use of power chords and strange and exotic leads.
Two instrumentals are also featured on Jeff Beck Group, the quite lovely Ashford and Simpson tune, "I Can't Give Back The Love I Feel For You" and "Definitely Maybe," one of his best known songs, features a beautiful slide guitar and an emotional melody line accompanied by gorgeous harmonies.
Jeff Beck Group is a true Jeff Beck showcase and one of the finest pieces of blues/rock in the history of the genre. Beck's truly inspired and creative playing is extraordinarily fluid and plain genius in a class at the top echelon of guitarists. The record was produced by Steve Cropper of Booker T & The M.G.'S.
01. Ice Cream Cakes (05:44)
02. Glad All Over (03:01)
03. Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You (05:00)
04. Sugar Cane (04:09)
05. I Can't Give Back The Love I Feel For You (02:46)
06. Going Down (06:52)
07. I Got To Have a Song (03:30)
08. Highways (04:45)
09. Definitely Maybe (05:09)

Donation to replenish the collection of the site and its further development
If there are no links - Click here - And write a link to the album. We will reupload file


About multichannel music