Surround Britney Spears - In The Zone (2004) DVD-Audio multichannel music

Categories: Pop Surround Music
Britney Spears - In The Zone (2004) DVD-Audio
Artist: Britney Spears | Album: In The Zone | Released: 2004 | Quality: DVD-Audio ( DVD-Audio 5.1 88,2/24, 2.0 88,2/24 Dolby Digital 5.1 48/16, 2.0 48/16 ) | Genre: Pop

If 2001's Britney was a transitional album, capturing Spears at the point when she wasn't a girl and not yet a woman, its 2003 follow-up, In the Zone, is where she has finally completed that journey and turned into Britney, the Adult Woman. Like her peer Christina Aguilera, Britney equates maturity with transparent sexuality and the pounding sounds of nightclubs, but since she's not as dirrty as Xtina, her spin is a little different. Where Christina comes across like a natural-born skank, Britney is the girl next door cutting loose at college, drinking and smoking and dancing and sexing just a little too recklessly, since this is the first time she can indulge herself. And that's what In the Zone is -- Britney indulging herself, desperate to prove that she's an adult. Since she's a pop diva, the record label certainly set some limits -- and, really, given her track record and taste, there was little chance that she would follow Pink's lead and write an album with a punk rocker and then draft Peaches for a cameo -- but she has been freed from her musical parent, Max Martin, who is absent for the first time from a Britney Spears album. She's chosen to play the field and work with a bunch of different collaborators, including Madonna, Moby, the Matrix, Trixster, Roy "Royality" Hamilton, Bloodshy & Avant, and R. Kelly. This laundry list of producers and co-writers reveals a combination of savvy and stupidity, reminiscent of the good ideas and bad judgment a young adult goes through in the throes of adjusting to maturity, but one thing ties it all together: her yearning to prove that she's a mature adult. Since the songs are almost exclusively about sex or dancing, with an empowerment tune and a couple of heartbreak ballads tossed in for good measure, it's a pretty limited definition of adulthood, which would be fine if Spears didn't treat it all so seriously, as if maturity were only about sex and dancing. Since she's so determined to be a woman, not a girl, she has completely shed the sugarcoated big hooks and sappy love songs that drove her stardom, concentrating on music that glides by on mellow grooves or hits hard with its hip-hop beats. It's all club-ready, but despite some hints of neo-electro and the Neptunes, it doesn't quite sound modern -- it sounds like cuts from 1993 or Madonna's Bedtime Stories and Ray of Light. Madonna, of course, duets on the album's first single, "Me Against the Music," whose title practically begs to be mocked. Unfortunately, any snarky jokes directed at the song are warranted, since it's the worst single either Britney or Madonna had yet released, a songless mess of staccato beats whose chorus weirdly recalls Oasis' "D'You Know What I Mean." Neither singer has much range, yet they usually exploit their weakness well; here, they succumb to their limitations to the point that their thin voices are indistinguishable apart from Madonna singing "Hey Britney" ad nauseam.
01. Me Against The Music - (with Madonna)
02. (I Got That) Boom - (with Ying Yang Twins)
03. Showdown
04. Breathe On Me
05. Early Mornin'
06. Toxic
07. Outrageous
08. Touch Of My Hand
09. Hook Up, The
10. Shadow
11. Brave New Girl
12. Everything
13. Me Against The Music - (Richie Rich's Desi Kulcha remix, with Madonna)

+ Bonus Video: Toxic, Me Against The Music (with Madonna)
+ Photo Gallery
+ Lyrics

Donation to replenish the collection of the site and its further development
If there are no links - Click here - And write a link to the album. We will reupload file