Surround Elton John - Honky Chateau (2004) DVD-Audio multichannel music

Categories: Rock Surround Music
Elton John - Honky Chateau (2004) DVD-Audio
Artist: Elton John | Album: Honky Chateau | Released: 2004 | Quality: DVD-Audio ( MLP 5.1 96kHz/24Bit Bitrate: lossless ) | Label: rip of SACD by Island Def Jam MusicGroup Universal Records | Catalog #: B0003609-36 | Genre: Rock

Considerably lighter than Madman Across the Water, Honky Chateau is a rollicking collection of ballads, rockers, blues, country-rock, and soul songs. On paper, it reads like an eclectic mess, but it plays as the most focused and accomplished set of songs Elton John and Bernie Taupin ever wrote. The skittering boogie of "Honky Cat" and the light psychedelic pop of "Rocket Man" helped send Honky Chateau to the top of the charts, but what is truly impressive about the album is the depth of its material. From the surprisingly cynical and nasty "I Think I'm Gonna Kill Myself" to the moving ballad "Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters," John is at the top of his form, crafting immaculate pop songs with memorable melodies and powerful hooks. While Taupin's lyrics aren't much more comprehensible than before, John delivers them with skill and passion, making them feel more substantial than they are. But what makes Honky Chateau a classic is the songcraft, and the way John ties disparate strands of roots music into distinctive and idiosyncratic pop -- it's one of the finest collections of mainstream singer/songwriter pop of the early '70s.
01. Honky Cat (05:10)
02. Mellow (05:29)
03. I Think I'm Gonna Kill Myself (03:34)
04. Susie (Dramas) (03:25)
05. Rocket Man (I Think It's Going to Be a Long, Long Time) (04:40)
06. Salvation (03:57)
07. Slave (04:21)
08. Amy (04:02)
09. Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters (04:58)
10. Hercules (05:31)

Bonus track (1995 CD reissue)

11. Slave (Alternate take) (02:58)

Donation to replenish the collection of the site and its further development
If there are no links - Click here - And write a link to the album. We will reupload file


About multichannel music