Surround Peter Gabriel - Melt (1980) DVD-Audio multichannel music

Categories: Rock Surround Music
Peter Gabriel - Melt (1980) DVD-Audio
Artist: Peter Gabriel | Album: Melt | Released: 1980 | Quality: DVD-Audio ( MLP 5.0 96Khz/24Bit, DTS 5.0, Dolby AC3 5.0 Bitrate: lossless ) | Label: upmixed by GART | Genre: Rock

Generally regarded as Peter Gabriel's finest record, his third eponymous album finds him coming into his own, crafting an album that's artier, stronger, more song-oriented than before. Consider its ominous opener, the controlled menace of "Intruder." He's never found such a scary sound, yet it's a sexy scare, one that is undeniably alluring, and he keeps this going throughout the record. For an album so popular, it's remarkably bleak, chilly, and dark -- even radio favorites like "I Don't Remember" and "Games Without Frontiers" are hardly cheerful, spiked with paranoia and suspicion, insulated in introspection. For the first time, Gabriel has found the sound to match his themes, plus the songs to articulate his themes. Each aspect of the album works, feeding off each other, creating a romantically gloomy, appealingly arty masterpiece. It's the kind of record where you remember the details in the production as much as the hooks or the songs, which isn't to say that it's all surface -- it's just that the surface means as much as the songs, since it articulates the emotions as well as Gabriel's cubist lyrics and impassioned voice. He wound up having albums that sold more, or generated bigger hits, but this third Peter Gabriel album remains his masterpiece.
01. Intruder
02. No Self Control
03. Start
04. I Don't Remember
05. Family Snapshot
06. And Through the Wire
07. Games Without Frontiers
08. Not One of Us
09. Lead a Normal Life
10. Biko

Donation to replenish the collection of the site and its further development
If there are no links - Click here - And write a link to the album. We will reupload file