Surround Placebo - Soulmates Never Die (Live in Paris 2003) (2004) DTS 5.1 multichannel music

Categories: Rock / Alternative Rock Surround Music
Placebo - Soulmates Never Die (Live in Paris 2003) (2004) DTS 5.1
Artist: Placebo | Album: Soulmates Never Die (Live in Paris 2003) | Released: 2004 | Quality: DTS 5.1 ( .wav tracks, 44.1kHz/24Bit ) | Label: rip of DVD by ©Virgin Records | Genre: Alternative Rock

Ten years into its rock career, Placebo release its first concert film with Soulmates Never Die: Live in Paris 2003. Recorded on October 18, 2003, in front of 16,000 fans, the film is an intensely edgy portrait of Placebo as a trio of arena rock gods. Since Brian Molko and company were touring in support of their fourth album Sleeping With Ghosts, the set list favors their then-new album. Black Market Music and Without You I'm Nothing are represented with a fair number of selections, as well, if primarily just the hits and singles. Sadly, the band's self-titled debut is ignored, other than a fresh take on "Bionic." Old favorites like "Bruise Pristine" and "36 Degrees" are nowhere to be found, but Placebo is in such command of its art here that almost any omission could be excused. Somehow Molko doesn't sound as whiny here as he does on the band's albums, and whether that's a good thing or a bad thing is up to each listener. Either way, his voice is still in fine form, his and Stefan Olsdal's guitars are as fierce and crunchy as ever, and Steve Hewitt's drumming is spot-on. Every one of the 21 songs is tackled with conviction and passion. Indeed, most of the songs sound fuller and better here than on their respective albums. Special note could be doled out to "Protege Moi," where Molko offers up a French-language version of "Protect Me From What I Want," a magnificent and touching performance of "Black-Eyed," and the concert's finale, where opening performer Frank Black joins the band for a pitch-perfect rendition of "Where Is My Mind?," one of the Pixies' and Black's most haunting songs. During the entire film, fans of subtle camera movements and extended close-ups might need an airbag at their side. Few shots last more than two seconds, every digital and analog special effect in the book is used to distort and color every other frame of film, and hyperkinetic lighting and strobes make sure every viewer in the crowd and in the home audience will be in a trance. Since the DVD is so busy with onscreen effects, it would have been nice if alternate angles had been provided; perhaps less active or static shots of the band and without all of the onscreen effects. Surely, some viewers will be disappointed they can't ogle Molko for extended periods of time, and others will miss seeing more of Olsdal's trademark "inspired" dancing. The 2004 DVD edition also includes a 25-minute documentary that follows the band around the world during the tour. It's enlightening in the sense that one sees how down-to-Earth the band is, outside of the glamorous trappings of their live performances. Soulmates Never Die: Live in Paris 2003 is absolutely essential for Placebo fans.
01. Introduction
02. Bullet Proof
03. Allergic
04. Every You Every Me
05. Bionic
06. Protge-Moi [Protect Me From What I Want]
07. Plasticine
08. Bitter End
09. Soulmates
10. Black-Eyed
11. I'll Be Yours
12. Special Needs
13. English Summer Rain
14. Without You I'm Nothing
15. This Picture
16. Special K
17. Taste In Men
18. Slave To The Wage
19. Peeping Tom
20. Pure Morning
21. Centerfolds
22. Where Is My Mind (feat. The Pixies)

Donation to replenish the collection of the site and its further development
If there are no links - Click here - And write a link to the album. We will reupload file


About multichannel music